Stewards in the Hands of a Loving God

What does it mean to be a steward of the gifts of God?

More Precious Than Gold

Leave a comment

The declaration of the skies, the revelation of the world

Relate the story of God’s hand at work as nature is unfurled.

The day communicates to day and night imparts the truth to night;

Yet no one speaks, no words exist to tell of God’s great might.

In silence, God’s creation sings, resounding throughout all the earth.

The sun pours warmth on everything, rejoicing at the world’s re-birth.

 

God’s perfect law revives the soul, his guidance makes the simple wise.

His good instruction warms the heart, his pure commands lift up the eyes.

I fear you for I know your might. I trust you for I feel your grace.

I love you for I seek your truth. I offer you my humble praise.

 

And who can understand his faults? Direct me, Lord, to look within.

Conceal me from my enemies and set me free from secret sin.

Let meditations of my heart and words be pleasing in your sight;

Redeemer, rock and rescuer, illumine, kindle with your light.

 

These truths are more precious than gold, more precious than mountains of gold.

They are sweeter than honey that drips from the comb.

For they light the way,

For they light the way,

For they light the way

To a heavenly home.

c. Ruth Somervell, 2008

 

 

Author: ypsilantibill

Professor of English Education, Eastern Michigan University; Married to Kathy Hessert-Tucker; Sidekick to Papillon, Wysiwyg; Member, St. Clare's Episcopal Church, Ann Arbor, MI

Leave a comment